Ideas for Someday

What’s the purpose of a blog, anyway? Does it involve posting regularly, or people actually reading it? Maybe I couldn’t answer that the first time around, which is why this was abandoned after two posts. I’ll be continuing to consider these questions moving forward, and I’ve decided to move forward into this unknown territory.

That said, there isn’t an awful lot of time right now to post. I’m getting married in just over a month and there is much to do. So in the meantime, I’ll post some ideas, seeds that maybe will sprout into longer posts when they are ready.

  • I’d love to post at some point about how simplicity became so important to me, even before it became a more popular concept. My relationship with simplicity was forged in 9/11-era New York City and then in an intentional community in Montana. It might be an interesting story to tell.
  • I’d also like to post about the shadow side of simplicity, including the baggage that it can perpetuate or create. This is an important part of the story, too.
  • Getting to Know a Place Very Well is a practice that I don’t always follow, but find so valuable when I remember it. I learned a lot about this from the writings of Gary Snyder, Wendell Berry, and others.
  • There are some ideas about simplicity that have evolved for me over the years, listed briefly here: that it’s both an internal and external process, that it sometimes involves spending more money on nicer things, that it’s always a work in progress and never a clear end goal, that it’s a privilege, and that it’s highly personal in its manifestation.

More to come someday–my sincere hope.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Ideas for Someday

  1. Hey Jen,

    I’m interested in learning more about living simply. It’s so easy to accumulate stuff and things that I don’t need. I have to say that living in a studio apartment has helped me reduce the amount of things I hold onto, but I know I could do a lot more.

    Congratulations on your upcoming nuptials! I’m so excited for you both!! Hugs and love, Allison

    Like

Leave a Reply

